A Reminder To Myself That I Am Not A Robot

I want chocolate. Something sweet and rich, but not too sweet and rich. It’s a craving that pops up sometimes.

They say cravings are because your body needs something that it’s not receiving. The long lasting cravings, I mean, not the “talked to my brother about Korean BBQ and now I’m craving it”.

Does this mean I need to eat more fruit? Since fruit has natural sugars. It’s true that I haven’t eaten as much as I should recently.

It is important to take care of your physical body because if your body is unhealthy, then it affects your brain, which affects how you see things. Whenever I don’t get enough sleep, I get grouchy and am more likely to have anxiety or feel gloomy. When I don’t eat enough, I get dizzy and can’t think as clearly.

That’s why eating right and exercising are two legitimate methods to dealing with anxiety or depression. It may not be the cure all, but it does go a long way. Plus the endorphins from exercising help.

So even when I feel depressed and don’t want to eat, I make the effort to. I still try to walk around so my body isn’t stationary for most of the day. Sometimes, eating chocolate helps me when I’m feeling lackluster.

This is a reminder to myself. Sometimes, OK most of the time, I’d like to pretend physical limitations like these don’t exist so I can power through whatever I’m doing. My focus is like a laser.

Remember, you are not a robot. Take care of yourself. You only have one body. It’s something you take for granted, but if you don’t take care of it, you won’t be able to do even that.

 

