Even Small Choices Are Mine Too

There’sa social activity at my church that I should go to. I mean, I don’t have a reason not to go. So I should right?

Maybe my reason can be as simple as preference? Because I would rather do something else?

Either choice is fine. I’m not hurting anyone. It’s such a small decision.

Maybe this kind of concept can be applied to other parts of life. Someone asked me if I wanted to date not because he was interested, but because he felt like he didn’t have a reason not to and I was the only prospect in his eyes (since we are already sort of friends). I told him that while he doesn’t have a reason to not date, he doesn’t have a viable reason to date either. No matter what the social pressures are, he needs to do what is right for him.

Maybe this can apply to me too. No matter what the social pressures, the should or should not’s, I need to do what is right for me. Even deciding not to go somewhere for my own sake, because I would rather do something else, it’s my choice. My free agency.

I’m not a bad person for wanting to not only help others, but myself as well.

(Addendum: If anyone judges this negatively, that’s a reflection of them and their views, not me or mine, but to be honest, I didn’t even consider it until I was typing up my tags. I have taught myself to pay no mind to inaccurate judgements of others towards me unless it directly affects my life. Even though I care how I’m perceived like any human being, I’m not going to put stock in judgemental nonsense. I want to take the high road.

I think that’s a good sign of growth isn’t it? That I am confident in myself enough to brush these things to the side. I’m not going to waste energy on this.

Still, if you are judgemental towards others, don’t be upset if other people are the same way towards you. Since you do the same and all.)

 

