Distractions Are Annoying

Here’s the thing.

Whenever I am on the brink of something good or currently doing something good, there’s always some sort of distraction that will pop up. It can be thoughts that derail, my brain reminding me of all the mistakes I’ve ever made, or someone decides to try and ruin my day by being their rude selves. It is super annoying.

I have morals. My ethics are good enough for me to be able to tell the difference between good and bad. I might slip into bad habits sometimes, but I’m usually self-aware enough to fix it. Barring that, there are those around me who are not afraid to tell me when they think I’m doing something wrong. So this isn’t the universe telling me to turn back before I do or say something that can’t be taken back.

Maybe this is what self-sabotage, where I think I’m doing too well and constantly waiting for the other shoe to drop. Maybe this is life being life. Maybe this is proof that I need to be more focused.

Like many in this technological, distraction driven age, I too have the attention span of a gnat. The best way I deal with this is by…well, when I figure it out, I’ll tell you. You’ll be one of the first to know.

My goal is to be more focused though.

 

