I Need To Recognize This

I’ve been taking it easy as of late all the while also wishing I got more done. However, I’ve found that by taking a break every once in a while, I feel more like myself than I’ve had in a while. Maybe my wounds needed more than just time to heal? It makes sense. When you’re physically injured, you try to take it easy so shouldn’t it be the same with the wounds inside your mind and soul?

I’m only human. It makes sense that my brain needs to just lay back and relax. The more tightly wound I get, the less control I have over myself and the less peace I feel.

I’m going to be taking it easy for a while. Where I live, there’s a lot of emphasis on getting things done. So much so that people often feel lazy when they’re not finishing their long to do lists. Look, we only have 24 hours in a day and about half of that is spent in necessary and healthy sleep. There’s only so much any of us can get done. As long as the most imporant things get done, isn’t that enough? I don’t think it’s naive of me to want to be held to reasonable expectations considering how many of my problems stem from the unreasonable standards I hold myself to.

I’m going to make mistakes. I’m going to need time to get used to new and healthier habits. I’m going to be human. Isn’t it time that I recognize that rather than push myself into becoming the machine I can never be?

Leave a Reply

